The light I now see.

If you have been following my journey for a while, you will know how much I love the outdoors, or ‘the little things’ I often talk about, and if you have been following my journey for even longer, you will know that this hasn’t always been the case.

Living with Anorexia, took my love for pretty much everything away. I was lost, withdrawn and the way I saw the world around me became very dark. Throughout my recovery and journey so far, the way I see the world has become lighter and lighter. So much so, I often become filled with gratitude, this is something I hope to share with you all.

I know, we all see the world differently, an individual mind-set and attitude to things around us, and there is something wonderful about that. To some people, the way I see the world seems strange and no matter how hard I try to explain the beauty in what I see; showing the colour in a photograph or the sound in a video, it still seems strange. People will laugh at how the smallest thing can bring me such peace. Not understanding how one view, a view I have seen a million times before, can make me feel so blessed.

Sometimes I feel silly for sharing however, I am reminded of the darkness I lived in whilst I was ill, knowing that for some people that darkness is their false, but believable, reality. You may be experiencing this darkness yourself and I know difficult but I hope my ramblings, photographs and now videos to, can bring you a little light, or at least hope that your light will one day return.

This post was supposed to be just a post to share a recent walk, or two, with you all, so getting back on track. Of course, these walks involved, those ‘gratitude filled moments’. Two simple walks, not far from home. The first being the surroundings of Llangollen Abbey, a truly peaceful place with such beautiful and cultural views.

In another close by walk, stumbling upon Carrog train station, I am not sure if I have mentioned but I tend to romance train stations. This one in particular, it felt like stepping into the nineteen-fiftees. If you visit, please do let me know what you think!

In ore, of this untouched vintage train station, we walked around and watched the train pull up. For a moment, I felt as though I had walked into a movie set, eagerly awaiting a lady, dressed in a buttoned up, collared dress, with her hair neatly pinned up, to come out of the tea room to meet her love. As you can see, my imagination is quite, hmm imaginative?

IMG_4719

Soon after I came back to reality, my bright, light reality. Walking across bridges, up and down hills, admiring the near by cottages and all that we had to see.

If you to, sometimes feel a little silly for sharing the way you see the world, please know that it is okay. I read a quote earlier this week, something along the lines of ‘you are your greatest power’ and you are. It might not feel like it but you have a choice to let light and colour into your world, or embrace the already light and colour you may already have. I will be sharing some more of this walk in this weeks video, huge thank you to those who have subscribed to my YouTube channel.

Okay, enough of this ramble.

Wishing you well,

Nicole

4 thoughts on “The light I now see.

  1. I love this! I am all about appreciating the colours of the world, or the tiny details. Thanks for sharing such a sweet post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

